

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 17 MAY 2004 (AT THE RISING OF THE LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING)

COMMITTEE AGENDA

COMMITTEE ROOMS 1/2 HARROW CIVIC CENTRE

MEMBERSHIP (Quorum 3) (subject to confirmation at Annual Council)

Chair: (subject to decision at Annual Council)

Councillors:

Blann Jean Lammiman

Mitzi Green Osborn
Ann Groves Pinkus
Ingram Seymour
Marie-Louise Nolan Versallion

Thammaiah

Reserve Members:

Gate
 Nana Asante
 Myra Michael
 Mrs Champad

Nana Asante
 Mrs Champagnie
 Mary John
 John Nickolay
 Janet Mote

6. Omar

Issued by the Committee Services Section,
Law and Administration Division

Contact: Claire Vincent, Committee Secretary

Tel: 020 8424 1637 E-mail: claire.vincent@harrow.gov.uk

HARROW COUNCIL

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 17 MAY 2004

AGENDA - PART I

1. Appointment of Chair:

To note the appointment at the Annual Meeting of the Council on 13 May 2004 (subject to confirmation of that decision) of a Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2004-05 (or now to make an appointment).

2. Attendance by Reserve Members:

To note the attendance at this meeting of duly appointed Reserve Members (if any).

(Note: The Members and Reserve Members of the Committee for 2004/05 are as appointed by the Annual Council Meeting of 13 May 2004).

3. **Arrangement of Agenda:**

To consider whether any of the items listed on the agenda should be considered with the press and public excluded on the grounds that it is thought likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted, that there would be disclosure of confidential information in breach of an obligation of confidence or of exempt information as defined in the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985.

4. Appointment of Vice-Chair:

To appoint (subject to confirmation of the Committee's membership) a Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2004/05.

(The Labour Group has nominated Councillor Mitzi Green to this office).

Minutes:

To defer the signing of the Minutes of the Committee's meeting held on 27 April 2004, until the next ordinary meeting.

6. **Declarations of Interest:**

To receive any declarations of interest on the part of Members in relation to the substantive business for this meeting.

7. <u>Establishment of Sub-Committees 2004-05:</u>

To consider the establishment of and appointment of Members to Sub-Committees of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2004/05.

Enc. [Note: The proposed memberships of the Sub-Committee relevant to this Committee are set out in the appendix].

[NOTE: Members are asked to note that subsidiary body memberships must be determined in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and regulations made thereunder.

Therefore, whilst the Committee has to confirm the membership of its Panels to comply with the Local Government Act 1972, the actual nominations of named Councillors are decided by each group, from within the membership of that group.

It is not open to the Committee to seek to change or to delay the nominations duly made by a group. It is only if there is a failure to make a nomination or to act in due time that the Committee may seek to consider the matter further].



SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

<u>Labour</u> <u>Conservative</u> <u>Liberal</u> <u>Democrats</u>

(1) ENVIRONMENT AND THE ECONOMY SUB COMMITTEE (7)

(4)

<u>I.</u>
<u>Members</u>
Blann*
Lavingia
Lent
Miles

Arnold
Knowles
Seymour

II. 1. Marie-Louise Nolan 2. John Nickolay 2. Dharmarajah 2. Janet Mote 3. Thammaiah 3. Vina Mithani 4. Anne Whitehead

(2) HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SUB-COMMITTEE (7)

(4) (3)

I. Members Ann Groves Myra Michael*
Lavingia Vina Mithani
Marie-Louise Nolan* Versallion
Thammaiah

II. 1. Blann 1. Jean Lammiman 2. Mitzi Green 2. Mrs Joyce Nickolay 3. Toms 3. Pinkus 4. Gate

Adviser (Non-Voting):-

Dr. S. Ahmad - Director of Public Health, Harrow Primary Care Trust

	(5)	(5)	(1)
<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	Nana Asante Gate Mitzi Green* Lent Marie-Louise Nolan	Mary John Jean Lammiman Janet Mote* John Nickolay Osborn	(Vacant)
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Blann Lavingia Anne Whitehead Dharmarajah Kinsey 	 Vina Mithani Anjana Patel Mrs Bath Kara - 	-
	Voting Co-opted Members: (1) Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors (2 year appointments 2002/03 – 2003/04:- Mr H. Epie (Primary)/Mr R. Sutcliffe (Secondary)		
	(4) STRENGTHENING COMMUNITIES SUB-COMMITTEE (7)		
	(4)	(3)	
<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	Omar Dharmarajah Gate Thammaiah*	Janet Cowan Vina Mithani Seymour *	
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Lavingia Toms Lent Ann Groves 	 Osborn Kara Anjana Patel 	
	(5) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)		
	(3)	(2)	
<u>l.</u> <u>Members</u>	Mitzi Green * Marie-Louise Nolan Thammaiah	Jean Lammiman * Osborn	
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Blann Ann Groves Lent 	 Seymour Versallion Romain 	

(3) LIFELONG LEARNING SUB-COMMITTEE (11)

(6) ACCOUNTS APPROVAL SUB-COMMITTEE (5)

(3)

I.
MembersBlann
Ingram
ThammaiahPinkus
VersallionII.1. Mitzi Green
2. Marie-Louise Nolan
Members1. Osborn
2. Jean Lammiman
3. John Nickolay

(CH) = Chair (VC) = Vice-Chair

Denotes Member for Consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters

This page is intentionally left blank

LONDON BOROUGH OF HARROW

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

ITEM 7

MONDAY 17 MAY 2004

The Major Minority Group has proposed the following nominations in the offices specified.

<u>Chairs of Sub-Committees:</u> (Paragraph 7.2 – Part B. Committee Procedure Rules)

Environment and Economy Sub-Committee
Health and Social Care Sub-Committee
Lifelong Learning Sub-Committee
Strengthening Communities Sub-Committee
Call-In Sub-Committee
Accounts Sub-Committee

- Councillor Blann
- Councillor Marie Louise-Nolan
 - Councillor Mitzi Green
- Councillor Thammaiah
 - Councillor Mitzi Green
 - Councillor

This page is intentionally left blank